Semi-Obligatory End-of-class Pseudo-Cathartic Post

     I have had an absolute blast in Journalism 65, and have appreciated the voice that it has given me and the learning experience as far as what to do and what not to do with it. Thank you everybody that was in my class and I wish we could have all met in real life. If any of you are ever in a pinch let me know and I’ll do what I can because I respect the content that you are putting into the world.

Most of you are really trying to do the right thing as opposed to living on autopilot like most people. Stay thinking critically and testifying and refusing to accept the standardized narrative.

The ten things that I learned as a result of taking this class:

1. In order to network on the internet (much like in real life), you must suck up to powerful people, which is not easy if you are knocking the actions of those in power left and right in your actual content. Subtlety is key. Most people hate the system with all of their hearts, but not everybody has the privilege of speaking on it.

2. The main difference between the internet and real life is that on the internet there is more time to think that which you say through, and even revise it in some cases.

3. If somebody shows interest in your personal life on the internet, it is likely that they consider you useful for their personal gain.

4. If the political left is going to get anywhere, it needs to be drawing support from the working class, and not more ivory-tower elitist armchair bureaucrats.

5. One language per blog. People like to know what language their going to be reading in and don’t want to see little half-assed bids at online community unification sprinkled in.

6. Never trust a public compliment.

7. It’s not a game. What we put into the world is real and has a real effect and we must be able to stand 100% behind the things we bring into the world because what we create, if anything at all, defines us.

8. Globalization is equal parts positive and negative, is not inextricably linked with capitalism and could be used to the benefit of the oppressed majority if put into their own hands.

9. I can no longer judge the online actions of others with such contempt now that I see the pressure associated with familial ties to “do well”, even at the unfortunate expense of others.

10. LinkedIn sucks.

  The future of journalism will most certainly involve the internet. How could it not? All major news companies now use the internet and have done so for years. It will also not use the internet in that there will always be people on this planet that rely on word-of-mouth, weather patterns and more ancient methods for obtaining information. The mainstream media will continue to corrupt journalism through corporate interests and the public will generally continue to view the more blatant lies with vague and ambivalent  skepticism. Such is life.

    As for social media… it will live on as long as the human race continues to… so maybe another twenty years or so. We are too simultaneously self-absorbed and interdependent to cast it off, but it will evolve to frightening proportions until there is no way to tell where woman ends and machine begins (man, too).

The course will affect my future in that it has made me much more adept at both using the internet and in finding work, and I really couldn’t ask for more than that. These are two very important survival skills that have likely added another half-decade or so to my projected lifetime (20 more years, like all of you doomed people). But really, I appreciate your readership and your life whoever you are reading this blog that I created for my journalism 65 class. I will be back to blogging before you know it, but I have decided to do so anonymously, so you won’t know it’s me. I wonder what anonymous me blogs about?

Anyway, as a parting gift, for your delight, here are some pigeons.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

